Public shaming

Thankfully, I don’t get a whole lot of spam on this site; the various safeguards I’ve put in place seem to work most of the time. (Thank you, Akismet.)

But I do occasionally get a spam message through the contact form. Up until now, I’ve generally ignored them. But I got one this morning that caught me in a whimsical mood, and so I think I’ll share it with the world, in its entirety–with all contact information intact apart from my own.

 

 From: Jeff C. (thesourceav@thebirdmail.com via [redacted])

7:16AM

Hello Brian Eisley,

An email has been sent from Jeff C.. Here’s the message:

Text/Banner Advertising on your site – inquiry from Phil at The Source AV

Hi,

I’d like to inquire about doing a sponsored blog post – about 150-300 words that talks a little bit about DUI law and links back to our site http://www.thesourceav.com. We provide premier Custom Design, Engineering and Installation for home theater and I thought we might be a good fit for your readers/visitors on brianeisley.com.

Here’s a list of some blog post titles we’ve done in the past:
- Choosing Speakers for Your Home Theater
- The Only Reason for Using High-End Audio Cables
- Home Theater Installation: Hire a Professional VS. Doing It Yourself

Our budget is around $15 for the post. Is this something you’d be open to?

Also we might be interested in a small banner ad if the price is right. Our budget is $40/year – something like this:http://i43.tinypic.com/2lbp4iw_th.jpg

Let me know if you’d be open to either or both of these.

Also if you have some other sites just send them over and we might be interested in doing a sponsored post on there as well!

Regards,

Phil
The Source AV

This additional information was provided:

Name: Jeff C.
Email: thesourceav@thebirdmail.com
Organization: The Source AV Design Group
Phone: 8007007029
Address: 3035 Kashiwa St., Suite 101
City/town: Torrance
State/province: California
Zip/postal code: 90505
Country: United States
Website: http://www.thesourceav.com/
Referred by: Another source (indicate below)

Data Collected:

Time stamp: Jan. 26th, 2012 @ 9:16 am
IP: 180.190.199.35
UA: Mozilla on Windows
ISP: 180.190.199.35
Ref: http://www.brianeisley.com/contact/
Whois: http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=180.190.199.35

 

So.

Let it be known to all the world that The Source AV Design Group, of Torrance, CA, is a spammer (or, at the very least, is foolish enough to hire a spammer). The same applies to “Phil” and to “Jeff C.”, whoever they might be.

Also, let it be known that, for some reason, The Source AV Design Group, of Torrance, CA, wishes to be prominently linked with a post about DUI law. (See the first paragraph of their request, above.) Why this would be is a mystery to me, but hey–I’m just reporting.

Any potential customers of The Source AV Design Group, of Torrance, CA, who might come across this post via Google or whatever–and they will–should know that they will be supporting the unethical and highly freaking annoying advertising practice of spamming, should they give any money at all to these people. Do with that knowledge as you will.

And anyone who may be thinking of asking me for the same favor in the future would be advised to pay close attention. I do not respond well to spammers. And, should you offend me so, I just might take the opportunity to have fun at your expense.

That is all.